FAQ

Helpful Information

What is the difference between a boating license and a boating certificate?

Boating certificates are often referred to as "boating licenses". At the present time the only State that we are aware of having a "boating license" is Alabama. Connecticut has "boating certificates". 

Do I need a boating certificate to train or drive your boat?

No. A boating certificate or "license" is not required to be a trainee or operate a boat with us.  

Do you provide boating certificates? 

We do not do "licensing" or provide boating certificates. Receiving your boating certificate involves attending what is normally an 8 hour safe boating course in a classroom. We exist to provide one-on-one hands-on training on the water.  The Resource tab of this website contains a link to the State's website that lists the approved classroom course providers, the completion of which ultimately results in a Safe Boating Certificate. If you want a recommendation for a great DEEP approved place to go for the classroom course feel free to email us.

Are the prices that I see on the bookings pages "per person"?

The charter pricing that you see on the Bookings page is NOT per passenger. That pricing is for the boat and Captain. The number of passengers is up to you, within limitations. This may change when other boats and captains are added, such as with fishing charters. 

Is there an age requirement for training on the boat? 

We prefer that trainees be at least 16 years old; there is some flexibility here.

Is the boat wheelchair accessible? 

The boat is not wheelchair accessible. Any special accommodations, current injuries or other limitations should be discussed prior to any booking. Additional boats that are added in the future may be wheelchair accessible. 

How many passengers can you carry? 

Training is for individuals,  individual couples, or an adult plus one. There is some flexibility here. Email to discuss.

For charters you can bring yourself plus up to five others. We need to discuss this prior to booking. Ages, size, amount of "luggage", crew if needed, and duration of trip matters. 

Can I bring a pet? 

We would love to meet your friend, especially service animals or an equivalent. Let's discuss your specifics.

Where do you operate out of? 

Right now we use our boat out of Wethersfield Cove. We have the ability to go elsewhere if necessary. For the 2021 season we should be networked with additional captains in additional areas. 

Do you have USCG licensed captains?

Yes. A person operating a boat with passengers for hire must be a United States Coast Guard licensed boat Captain. This includes but is not limited to operators who provide hands-on training or charters. There are an extremely limited number of exceptions to this federal law. If pursuing training or a charter always ask to see the operator's Merchant Mariner Credential which will always look like a red passport booklet.

Be Informed of Specials & News!

(860) 500-1102  (it is best to send a text with your name)

  • Google Places
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter

©2020 by Captain Morgan's Boat Training & Charters, LLC